Clyde Vinson Memorial Scholarship

Clyde Vinson taught for more than thirty years, both in universities and privately in New York City. He received his Ph.D. from Northwestern University and spent two years with The Working Theatre, a training program in voice, movement and acting founded by Kristin Linklater, Joseph Chaikin and Peter Kass. He organized the Court Theatre in Detroit, Michigan and directed there for three years. Clyde was on the faculty of Wayne State University and the University of Utah in Salt Lake City. He worked at the Circle Repertory Theatre in New York City and eventually opened his own Studio there. When the Royal Shakespeare Company came to Broadway, Clyde worked with the company, and when Derek Jacobi won his Tony Award he thanked Clyde in his acceptance speech. Clyde's last published work was an interview he did with Derek, which appeared in the January 1989 issue of Text and Performance Quarterly.

Clyde wished it to be known that his death resulted from AIDS. He is survived by his family in Texas, and by loving friends and students in New York, and in theatres everywhere.

VASTA's Clyde Vinson Memorial Scholarship includes:

  • one year free membership
  • waiver of conference fee
  • up to $500 for travel to the VASTA Conference
  • a $500 award

Nominations for the scholarship must be made in writing by a VASTA member; your letter of nomination is a vital part of the decision making process. Nomination letters, no more than two pages in length, should be an in depth account of how you know the nominee and why you believe he/she will make an exemplary voice and speech trainer.

This scholarship is intended for pre-career or very early career voice/speech trainers. The nominees must either be currently engaged in preparatory work as a voice/speech trainer, or have less than three years employment experience as a voice/speech trainer

Nominees must submit applications in .doc or docx (MS Word) format that includes the following supporting documents:
A concise (two pages maximum) C.V., highlighting your career-to-date.
A statement (two pages maximum) of your teaching philosophy and career  goals.
Your Postal Service permanent mailing address.

Nomination letters AND completed applications must be submitted to: Kimberly Mohne Hill <>, Chair of the Awards and Grants Committee, by e-mail either in the body of the e-mail message, or as a MS Word (.doc or .docx) file attached to the email by April 1.